Manitoba's Chief Public Health Officer says he is honoured to be recognized by an organization representing doctors in the province.

On Monday morning, Doctors Manitoba announced its 2021 Doctors Manitoba Awards, saying this year's winners are "a group of extraordinary specialists and family physicians focused on delivering exceptional care to Manitobans" in a statement.

Dr. Brent Roussin, Manitoba's Chief Public Health Officer, was named Physician of the Year.

"He has been the most regular, public face of the profession during the pandemic as he leads the fight against COVID-19. All physicians are trained to weigh risks and benefit with patients at an individual level, and Dr. Roussin has had to do this for our province’s whole population for over a year now."

Doctors Manitoba says Roussin's peers are "recognizing his truly exceptional contribution to the medical community and to the people of Manitoba over the last year."

Roussin thanked the organization for the award, acknowledging other medical professionals.

"Thank you to all of my physician colleagues who have been caring for Manitobans at the front lines during this pandemic."

Other awards given include:

  • Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Murray Kesselman
  • Dr. Jack Armstrong Humanitarian Award: Dr. Maryanne Crockett
  • Resident of the Year: Dr. Heather Watson
  • Medal of Excellence: Dr. Kerrie Wyant, Drs. Mairi and Chris Burnett, Dr. Demitre Serletis, Cadham Provincial Lab's leadership


Lanette Siragusa, Manitoba's Chief Nursing Officer, was given the Nursing the Future's Strength in the Storm award in March.